Resource Guide‎ > ‎

Who can help me?

IBCLC International Board Certified Lactation Consultant 
Credentialed by the IBLCE and most are members of ILCA. There are multiple paths to earning the IBCLC credential, but all require specialized education, clinical training, and passing the IBCLC exam.

CLC Certified Lactation Counselor
Credentialed by the Healthy Children's Center. Earning the CLC credential requires specialized training and passing the ALPP exam.

CBS Certified Breastfeeding Specialist
Credentialed by the LEAARC. Training includes lactation support coursework often taken by healthcare professionals and those preparing to take the IBCLC exam.

FABM Fellow of the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine
Physicians credentialed by the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine.

Peer Counselors working with MFHS and WIC are experienced breastfeeding mothers who have completed the Loving Support training.

La Leche League Leaders are experienced breastfeeding mothers who are trained and accredited by La Leche League International.

Breastfeeding USA Counselors are experienced breastfeeding mothers who are trained and accredited by Breastfeeding USA.

Breastfeeding Champions have completed the Outpatient Breastfeeding Champion Training administered by The Milk Mob.

Many of those who provide lactation support hold more than one of the above credentials and may also hold other credentials, such as Registered Nurses, Medical Doctors, Certified Practicing Midwives, and doulas.

If you are not sure about the credentials or training of a lactation support provider, ASK!

Inclusion in this Resource Guide is not an endorsement nor a guarantee of services, products, or information provided by those listed.